Indian eVisa for Entry via Airports and Seaports

Traveling to India has become more accessible and convenient with the introduction of the Indian eVisa program, which allows travelers to apply for visas online and enter the country via designated airports and seaports. In this guide, we’ll explore the Indian eVisa program for entry via airports and seaports, including the application process, eligible entry points Indian eVisa Airport and Seaports for Entry, and important considerations for travelers.

What is the Indian eVisa?

The Indian eVisa is an electronic travel authorization that allows eligible foreign nationals to enter India for tourism, business, medical treatment, or conference purposes. The eVisa is obtained by completing an online application form and is electronically linked to the traveler’s passport.

Entry via Airports and Seaports

Travelers holding valid Indian eVisas can enter India through designated airports and seaports across the country. These entry points are equipped with immigration and customs facilities to process eVisa holders efficiently upon arrival.

Eligible Entry Points


  • Indira Gandhi International Airport, Delhi
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport, Mumbai
  • Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru
  • Chennai International Airport, Chennai
  • Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport, Kolkata
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Airport, Hyderabad
  • Cochin International Airport, Kochi
  • Goa International Airport, Goa
  • Trivandrum International Airport, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Ahmedabad International Airport, Ahmedabad
  • Jaipur International Airport, Jaipur


  • Cochin Port, Kochi
  • Mormugao Port, Goa
  • New Mangalore Port, Mangalore
  • Chennai Port, Chennai
  • Mumbai Port, Mumbai

Application Process for Indian eVisa

1. Online Application

Initiate the eVisa application process by visiting the Indian eVisa ports allowed for exit official Indian government visa website. Complete the online application form with accurate personal and travel details.

2. Document Submission

Upload scanned copies of required documents, including a recent photograph and a scanned copy of the passport bio-page. Ensure that all documents meet the specified requirements.

3. Payment of Visa Fee

Pay the applicable visa fee online using a credit/debit card or other accepted payment methods. The visa fee varies based on the type and duration of the eVisa.

4. eVisa Approval

Upon successful submission of the application and payment of the visa fee, the eVisa application undergoes processing. Approval is typically granted within a few days, and a confirmation email containing the eVisa is sent to the applicant.

5. Entry into India

Upon arrival at the designated airport or seaport in India, present the eVisa confirmation along with your passport to the immigration authorities. Biometric data, including fingerprints and photographs, may be collected for verification purposes.

6. Enjoy Your Stay

Once cleared by immigration, travelers holding eVisas are free to explore and enjoy their stay in India for the permitted duration and purpose of travel.

Important Considerations for Travelers

  • Validity and Duration: Check the validity and duration of your eVisa to ensure it meets your travel needs. Overstaying the visa validity period can result in fines or penalties.
  • Entry Restrictions: Adhere to the entry restrictions specified in the eVisa, such as the permitted purpose of travel and duration of stay. Engaging in activities not permitted by the visa category can lead to complications or deportation.
  • Local Regulations: Familiarize yourself with local laws, customs, and regulations in India to ensure a smooth and respectful travel experience.


The Indian eVisa program offers a convenient and efficient way for travelers to enter India via designated airports and seaports. By following the simple online application process and adhering to entry requirements, travelers can enjoy seamless entry into India and explore its rich cultural heritage, natural beauty, and vibrant communities.